The purpose of governance is to provide confident, strategic leadership and to create robust accountability, oversight and assurance for educational and financial performance. 

All boards and committees, no matter what type of schools or how many schools they govern, have three core functions: 

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent. 

The Academy Trust’s Governance Structure is outlined below:

Governance Portal

As part of our Technology-based ethos our Governance takes place through a Governance Portal where all Governing bodies have access to live data from their respective schools, ability to ask questions prior to meetings and access to the required documents to ensure they can perform their function effectively.

Our Members and Trustees


  • Ashley Savell-Boss
  • Alan Price
  • Zahur Akhtar
  • Jithesh Nair
  • Balbir Sandhu


Shireland Collegiate Academy Trust Board:

  • Chair – Ashley Savell-Boss
  • Vice Chair & Chair of STP SPC – Jithesh Nair
  • Chief Executive Officer – Sir Mark Grundy
  • Chair of Shireland Collegiate Academy Standard and Performance Committee (SPC) – Michael Conway Jones
  • Chair of Tameside Primary Academy SPC – Judith Hunt
  • Chair of West Bromwich Collegiate Academy SPC – Kiran Egan
  • Trustee – Andrew Dennis
  • Trustee – Zahur Akhtar
  • Trustee – Jeyaraj Anandou

Also in attendance:

  • Finance & Compliance Director – Jane Kellas
  • HR Director – Melanie Adams
  • Finance and Operations Director – Jane Kellas
  • Deputy CEO – David Irish
  • Director of Primary Education – Lady Kirsty Grundy
  • SLL COO – George Faux